Russia Sanctions 398 U.S. Lawmakers · The Floridian


Amidst the ongoing war between Ukraine and Russia, the United States has maintained that it will continue to support Ukraine in its defense efforts. As a result, Russia has sanctioned 398 members of Congress. The sanctions come after the United States has sanctioned both Vladimir Putin and the Kremlin.

A State Department spokesperson commented that “the Russian government is sanctioning members of Congress for standing up for Ukraine as it defends itself from Russia’s unprovoked war.”

The sanctions against U.S. lawmakers is a direct response to sanctions that the Biden administration announced on March 24 aimed against “328 deputies of the State Duma of the Federal Assembly of the Russian Federation” according to the Foreign Ministry.

Called “mirror sanctions,” Russia’s Foreign Ministry announced that “these individuals, including the leadership and committee…

Read more…


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here